This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Nicaragua

Nicaragua is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Nicaragua. Information on all primary administrative regions in Nicaragua.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Nicaragua alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua

There are 17 regions in Nicaragua in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Atlantico Norte (RAAN) North Atlantic Autonomous Region (RAAN)1.249,700Puerto Cabezas Puerto Cabezas33,635
Atlantico Sur Región Autónoma Atlántico Sur2.306,510Bluefields Bluefields44,373
Boaco Departamento de Boaco3.171,000Boaco Boaco29,046
Carazo Departamento de Carazo4.177,100Jinotepe Jinotepe29,507
Chinandega Departamento de Chinandega5.441,300Chinandega Chinandega126,387
Chontales Departamento de Chontales6.182,000Juigalpa Juigalpa54,731
Esteli Departamento de Estelí7.215,400Esteli Estelí96,422
Granada Departamento de Granada8.190,600Granada Granada89,409
Jinotega Departamento de Jinotega9.297,300Jinotega Jinotega51,073
Leon Departamento de León10.389,600Leon León144,538
Madriz Departamento de Madriz11.133,300Somoto Somoto20,316
Managua Departamento de Managua12.1,380,300Managua Managua973,087
Masaya Departamento de Masaya13.317,500Masaya Masaya130,113
Matagalpa Departamento de Matagalpa14.484,900Matagalpa Matagalpa109,089
Nueva Segovia Departamento de Nueva Segovia15.211,200Ocotal Ocotal33,928
Rio San Juan Departamento de Río San Juan16.95,500San Carlos San Carlos13,451
Rivas Departamento de Rivas17.166,900Rivas Rivas30,293