This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Nicaragua

Nicaragua is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Nicaragua. Information on all primary administrative regions in Nicaragua.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Nicaragua alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua

There are 17 regions in Nicaragua in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Atlantico Sur Región Autónoma Atlántico Sur1.306,510Bluefields Bluefields44,373
Boaco Departamento de Boaco2.171,000Boaco Boaco29,046
Chinandega Departamento de Chinandega3.441,300Chinandega Chinandega126,387
Esteli Departamento de Estelí4.215,400Esteli Estelí96,422
Granada Departamento de Granada5.190,600Granada Granada89,409
Jinotega Departamento de Jinotega6.297,300Jinotega Jinotega51,073
Carazo Departamento de Carazo7.177,100Jinotepe Jinotepe29,507
Chontales Departamento de Chontales8.182,000Juigalpa Juigalpa54,731
Leon Departamento de León9.389,600Leon León144,538
Managua Departamento de Managua10.1,380,300Managua Managua973,087
Masaya Departamento de Masaya11.317,500Masaya Masaya130,113
Matagalpa Departamento de Matagalpa12.484,900Matagalpa Matagalpa109,089
Nueva Segovia Departamento de Nueva Segovia13.211,200Ocotal Ocotal33,928
Atlantico Norte (RAAN) North Atlantic Autonomous Region (RAAN)14.249,700Puerto Cabezas Puerto Cabezas33,635
Rivas Departamento de Rivas15.166,900Rivas Rivas30,293
Rio San Juan Departamento de Río San Juan16.95,500San Carlos San Carlos13,451
Madriz Departamento de Madriz17.133,300Somoto Somoto20,316