This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Nicaragua

Nicaragua is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Nicaragua. Information on all primary administrative regions in Nicaragua.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Nicaragua alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua

There are 17 regions in Nicaragua in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Nicaragua
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Managua Departamento de Managua1.1,380,300Managua Managua973,087
Leon Departamento de León2.389,600Leon León144,538
Masaya Departamento de Masaya3.317,500Masaya Masaya130,113
Chinandega Departamento de Chinandega4.441,300Chinandega Chinandega126,387
Matagalpa Departamento de Matagalpa5.484,900Matagalpa Matagalpa109,089
Esteli Departamento de Estelí6.215,400Esteli Estelí96,422
Granada Departamento de Granada7.190,600Granada Granada89,409
Chontales Departamento de Chontales8.182,000Juigalpa Juigalpa54,731
Jinotega Departamento de Jinotega9.297,300Jinotega Jinotega51,073
Atlantico Sur Región Autónoma Atlántico Sur10.306,510Bluefields Bluefields44,373
Nueva Segovia Departamento de Nueva Segovia11.211,200Ocotal Ocotal33,928
Atlantico Norte (RAAN) North Atlantic Autonomous Region (RAAN)12.249,700Puerto Cabezas Puerto Cabezas33,635
Rivas Departamento de Rivas13.166,900Rivas Rivas30,293
Carazo Departamento de Carazo14.177,100Jinotepe Jinotepe29,507
Boaco Departamento de Boaco15.171,000Boaco Boaco29,046
Madriz Departamento de Madriz16.133,300Somoto Somoto20,316
Rio San Juan Departamento de Río San Juan17.95,500San Carlos San Carlos13,451